Cross Island Line (CRL)


Cross Island Line

The eighth MRT line, namely Cross Island Line will be the next mega project to bring people closer to home in daily commuting. The idea was first conceived in 17th January 2013 and the feasibility study commenced in May 2013.

When completed, The Cross Island Line (CRL) will span across the Republic starting from Changi, Loyang, Pasir Ris, Hougang, Ang Mo Kio, Bukit Timah, Clementi, West Coast and eventually terminates at Jurong. As a result it links up major commercial and industrial node including Punggol Digital District, Changi and Jurong Lake District. The estimated length of the network is about 50 kilometre.

Higher Ridership Expected

Daily ridership of the Cross Island Line will be at least 600,000 commuters, which is higher than existing North East Line. Beside diversify the crowd in the existing transport network, the addition brings more travelling options to commuters in reaching their destination effectively. It also provides significant saving in travel time; for example, travelling from Punggol to Pasir Ris will take only 10 – 15 minutes as compared to 40 minutes bus ride today.

First Phase Announced

On 25th January 2019, details of the first phase of the 3 was announced. The first stretch of 12 stations will start from Changi and passing through Loyang, Pasir Ris, Hougang and end at Ang Mo Kio. Several stations will further expand to become interchange linking to various existing MRT lines.

Investment Catalyst

The Cross Island Line will provide enhanced connectivity to some matured estate and prove to be an investment catalyst for stream of tenants looking for better lifestyle in balance with transport convenience. As a result, The Garden Residences, located at the heart of Serangoon Gardens and 5 minutes walk from upcoming Serangoon North Station, will be one of the beneficiaries.

Welcoming News to Existing Residents

The 29 kilometre construction is slated to commence in 2020 and be ready by 2029. The addition of the infrastructure is welcoming to the residents with no MRT access, including Serangoon Gardens, Serangoon North, Aviation Park and the likes. The planned MRT line will also pass through Paya Lebar Airbase which will be relocated from 2030.

Online applicants are entitled to enjoy Direct Developer Price with VVIP Discounts and guaranteed with best pricing possible. Simply Book An Appointment to visit The Garden Residences ShowFlat.


Received notifications about latest news and promotions of The Garden Residences by simply fill up the form on the right.

 Strictly no spam policy.